Connect with us


PDP Convention: How PDP Governors Floored Atiku, Saraki, Lamido



How PDP Governors Floored Atiku

…As Arapaja beats Oyinlola, Ciroma loses once more
…APC incapable of holding conference – Ayu

ABUJA – Former Vice President, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, ex- Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki and former Jigawa state governor, Sule Lamido might have had a foretaste of what await them of their rumoured 2023 Presidential ambitions.

On the simply concluded nationwide elective conference of the Peoples Democratic Celebration, PDP, in Abuja; governors confirmed their would possibly as they actually handpicked members of the subsequent Nationwide Working Committee, NWC, and different nationwide officers of the occasion.

Atiku, Saraki and Lamido, Vanguard gathered, did the whole lot attainable to drum assist for Olagunsoye Oyinlola who vied for the workplace of the deputy nationwide chairman (South) in opposition to Taofeek Arapaja.

Arapaja, a former deputy governor of Oyo state, rode on the assist of the PDP governors to the conference, as entreaties made to Oyinlola to stepped down failed.

Two hours earlier than balloting, Atiku, Saraki and Lamido shrugged off their huge males standing as they made their technique to state pavilions housing delegates, to woo assist for Oyinlola. The transfer, in response to findings, was aimed toward neutralizing the affect of the governors who’ve since hijacked the occasion following the ouster of former chairman, Prince Uche Secondus. However, it turned out an train in futility as Arapaja polled a complete of two,004 votes to beat Oyinlola who barely garnered 705 votes.

A member of the outgoing NWC informed Vanguard in confidence that with the feat, governors have introduced themselves because the undisputed house owners of the occasion.

“Atiku and Saraki ought to notice that their time is over. In the event that they need to pursue their 2023 ambitions, the governors would have an enormous say. What it means is that with out the assist of the governors, you may’t win an enormous place within the PDP of immediately. That is the message I believe everybody took residence from this conference,” he stated.

Like in 2017 when her bid to develop into the PDP deputy nationwide chairman (North) failed, former Ladies Affairs Minister, Maryam Ina Ciroma once more failed to comprehend her ambition as she misplaced to Ambassador Umar Iliya Damagum.

13 governors elected on the platform of the PDP, Vanguard learnt, had pleaded with Ciroma to shelve her ambition to present room to the emergence of Damagum as consensus candidate.

After entreaties to her failed, Ciroma headed for the conference with confidence however the governors made their affect rely as Damagum polled 2, 222 votes to emerge deputy nationwide chairman (North) whereas Ciroma garnered a paltry 365 votes.

One placing characteristic of the voting sample of delegates was that all of them voted uniformly for the consensus candidates handpicked by both the governors or their associates.

Thus, the likes of Senator Samuel Anyanwu, Debo Ologunagba, Stella Effah-Attoe and Kamaldeen Ajibade emerged nationwide secretary, nationwide publicity secretary, nationwide lady chief and nationwide authorized adviser respectively after polling 3,426 votes every on the conference.

The story was the identical for unopposed Umar Bature, Okechukwu Daniel, Daniel Woyegikuro,

and Mohammed suleiman, as they turned members of the NWC after polling 3,426 votes every to emerge nationwide organizing secretary, nationwide auditor, nationwide monetary secretary and nationwide youth chief of the occasion respectively.

Like in 2017, the PDP governors compiled names of their most well-liked candidates, all of whom emerged victorious on the conference.

In the meantime, nationwide chairman-elect of the PDP, Senator Iyorchia Ayu has taunted the All Progressives Congress, APC, for what he referred to as their lack of ability to conduct profitable state congresses not to mention a nationwide elective conference.

In his remarks shortly after he was pronounced elected chairman of the occasion by Governor Ahmadu Fintiri, Ayu took the APC to the cleaners, blaming it for the sundry challenges dealing with the nation.

“I consider the opposite occasion can by no means maintain a conference as a result of even in states, they can not maintain congresses. They’ve produced 92 state chairmen for 36 states, how can they maintain a profitable conference which the PDP has finished? We’re ready for them. It is a problem to them. It is a stop discover for them. PDP is again and is taking again the nation to develop it.

“I need to sincerely recognize the PDP household. Right now is just a thanks deal with. Once we began this occasion 23 years in the past, we by no means in any means imagined that the journey will get us to this stage, a stage the place we dominated for 16 years.

“We went into tough instances, however for anyone who trouble to see, PDP is again to rescue Nigeria from the horrible mess we’ve been in within the final six years.

“I need to recognize all of you who’ve taken time as delegates, observers, supporters, and members of the media in addition to safety providers who’ve made this occasion such an exquisite occasion.

“Many individuals imagined that this convention will result in the break up of the PDP. Those that dream like which are dreaming in wonderland. Their dream was misplaced.

“Those that have misplaced hope ought to know that Nigeria isn’t a divided nation. A small group of individuals determined to divide Nigeria. PDP will come again, unite our individuals, put them collectively, North and South, East and West.

“We are going to transfer forward to develop this nation. We did it earlier than, we’re going to do it once more. I need to thank the governors. I need to thank the delegates. I need to thank our supporters and each single one that has made this occasion such an enormous success,” he stated.

The Consensus Listing

1. Iyorchia Ayu- nationwide chairman

2. Umar Iliya Damagum- deputy nationwide chairman (North)

3. Taofeek Arapaja- deputy nationwide chairman (South)

4. Samuel Anyanwu (nationwide secretary)

5. Ahmed Yayari Mohammed (nationwide treasurer)

6. Umar Bature (nationwide organizing secretary)

7. Daniel Woyegikuro (nationwide monetary secretary)

8. Stella Effah-Attoe (nationwide lady chief)

9. Mohammed Kadade suleiman (nationwide youth chief)

10. Kamaldeen Adeyemi Ajibade (nationwide authorized adviser)

11. Debo Ologunagba (nationwide publicity secretary)

12. Okechukwu Obiechina Daniel (nationwide auditor)

13. Setonji Koshoede (deputy nationwide secretary)

14 Ndubisi Eneh David (deputy nationwide treasurer)

15. Ibrahim Abdullahi (deputy nationwide publicity secretary)

16. Ighoyota Amori (deputy nationwide organizing secretary)

17. Adamu Kamale (deputy nationwide monetary secretary)

18. Hajara Yakubu Wanka (deputy nationwide lady chief)

19. Timothy Osadolor (deputy nationwide youth chief)

20. Okechukwu Osuoha (deputy nationwide authorized adviser)

How PDP Governors Floored Atiku

How PDP Governors Floored Atiku

How PDP Governors Floored Atiku

How PDP Governors Floored Atiku