Connect with us


Ekiti Assembly elects Aribisogan as Speaker




Hon Gboyega Aribisogan representing Ikole Constituency 1, has been elected as the new Speaker of the Ekiti State House of Assembly.

He was elected Speaker at plenary on Tuesday following the demise of the former Speaker, the Late Rt. Hon. Funminiyi Afuye who died last month after a brief illness.

Hon. Aribisogan polled 15 votes against 10 votes for Hon. Olubunmi Adelugba who represents Emure Constituency to win the election.

Aribisogan was nominated by Hon Tajudeen Akingbolu, Ekiti West 1 and seconded by Hon Adegoke Olajide, Efon Constituency while Hon Bode Adeoye Oyekola, Ekiti West 2 nominated Hon Olubunmi Adelugba and was seconded by Hon Ojo Martin, Ijero constituency.

After being sworn in by the clerk of the House, Mr Tola Esan, the new speaker expressed gratitude to his colleagues for the confidence reposed in him and pledged to discharge his duties to the best of his ability and protect the constitution of the country and standing rules of the House of Assembly, adding that he would remain committed to duty.

Until his election as Speaker of the Assembly, Rt. Hon. Gboyega Aribisogan was the leader of Government Business and a second termer in the Ekiti State legislature having been elected as a member of the 5th Assembly between 2015 and 2019.